2019-01-21 Welcome guest,  Sign In  |  Sign Up
Chin. Opt. Lett.
 Home  List of Issues    Issue 10 , Vol. 16 , 2018    10.3788/COL201816.103202

Pulse shape of ultrashort intense laser reflected from a plasma mirror
Xulei Ge1;2;3, Xiaohui Yuan2;3, Yuan Fang2;3, Wenqing Wei2;3, Su Yang2;3, Feng Liu2;3, Min Chen2;3, Li Zhao1, Zhengming Sheng2;3;4, and Jie Zhang2;3
1 State Key Laboratory of Surface Physics and Department of Physics, [Fudan University], Shanghai 200433, China
2 Key Laboratory for Laser Plasmas (MoE) and School of Physics and Astronomy, [Shanghai Jiao Tong University], Shanghai 2 002 40, China
3 Collaborative Innovation Center of IFSA (CICIFSA), [Shanghai Jiao Tong University], Shanghai 200240, China
4 SUPA, Department of Physics, [University of Strathclyde], Glasgow G4 0NG, United Kingdom

Chin. Opt. Lett., 2018, 16(10): pp.103202

Topic:Ultrafast optics
Keywords(OCIS Code): 320.5540  320.7080  350.5400  

The temporal profiles of high-power short-pulse lasers reflected from self-induced plasma mirrors (PMs) were measured with high temporal resolution in the sub-picosecond window. The leading front shape of the laser pulse is found to depend sensitively on the laser fluence on the PM surface. Spectral modulation plays a key role in pulse profile shaping. Our findings will extend our knowledge on properly using PMs.

Copyright: © 2003-2012 . This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited.

 View PDF (822 KB)


Posted online:2018/9/20

Get Citation: Xulei Ge, Xiaohui Yuan, Yuan Fang, Wenqing Wei, Su Yang, Feng Liu, Min Chen, Li Zhao, Zhengming Sheng, and Jie Zhang, "Pulse shape of ultrashort intense laser reflected from a plasma mirror," Chin. Opt. Lett. 16(10), 103202(2018)

Note: This work was supported by the National Basic Research Program of China (No. 2013CBA01502), the National Natural Science Foundation of China (Nos. 11721091, 11205100, and 11305103), and the National Key Scientific Instrument Development Project (No. 2012YQ030142).


1. D. Neely, P. Foster, A. Robinson, F. Lindau, O. Lundh, A. Persson, C.-G. Wahlstr?m, and P. McKenna, Appl. Phys. Lett. 89, 021502 (2006).

2. S. Kahaly, S. Monchocé, H. Vincenti, T. Dzelzainis, B. Dromey, M. Zepf, P. Martin, and F. Quéré, Phys. Rev. Lett. 110, 175001 (2013).

3. H. C. Kapteyn, M. M. Murnane, A. Szoke, and R. W. Falcone, Opt. Lett. 16, 490 (1991).

4. G. Doumy, F. Quéré, O. Gobert, M. Perdrix, P. Martin, P. Audebert, J. C. Gauthier, J.-P. Geindre, and T. Wittmann, Phys. Rev. E 69, 1539 (2004).

5. B. Dromey, S. Kar, M. Zepf, and P. Foster, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 75, 645 (2004).

6. T. Wittmann, J. P. Geindre, P. Audebert, R. S. Marjoribanks, J. P. Rousseau, F. Burgy, D. Douillet, T. Lefrou, K. T. Phuoc, and J. P. Chambaret, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 77, 083109 (2006).

7. A. Lévy, T. Ceccotti, P. D’Oliveira, F. Réau, M. Perdrix, F. Quéré, P. Monot, M. Bougeard, H. Lagadec, P. Martin, J.-P. Geindre, and P. Audebert, Opt. Lett. 32, 310 (2007).

8. X. Q. Yan, C. Lin, Z. M. Sheng, Z. Y. Guo, B. C. Liu, Y. R. Lu, J. X. Fang, and J. E. Chen, Phys. Rev. Lett. 100, 135003 (2008).

9. A. Henig, S. Steinke, M. Schnürer, T. Sokollik, R. H?rlein, D. Kiefer, D. Jung, J. Schreiber, B. M. Hegelich, X. Q. Yan, J. Meyer-Ter-Vehn, T. Tajima, P. V. Nickles, W. Sandner, and D. Habs, Phys. Rev. Lett. 103, 245003 (2009).

10. L. Yin, B. J. Albright, K. J. Bowers, D. Jung, J. C. Fernández, and B. M. Hegelich, Phys. Rev. Lett. 107, 045003 (2011).

11. H. Padda, M. King, R. J. Gray, H. W. Powell, B. Gonzalez-Izquierdo, L. C. Stockhausen, R. Wilson, D. C. Carroll, R. J. Dance, D. A. MacLellan, X. H. Yuan, N. M. H. Butler, R. Capdessus, M. Borghesi, D. Neely, and P. McKenna, Phys. Plasmas. 23, 063116 (2016).

12. A. Higginson, R. J. Gray, M. King, R. J. Dance, S. D. R. Williamson, N. M. H. Butler, R. Wilson, R. Capdessus, C. Armstrong, J. S. Green, S. J. Hawkes, P. Martin, W. Q. Wei, S. R. Mirfayzi, X. H. Yuan, S. Kar, M. Borghesi, R. J. Clarke, D. Neely, and P. McKenna, Nat. Commun. 9, 724 (2018).

13. J. Gao, F. Liu, X. Ge, Y. Deng, G. Zhang, Y. Fang, W. Wei, S. Yang, X. Yuan, M. Chen, Z. Sheng, and J. Zhang, Chin. Opt. Lett. 15, 081902 (2017).

14. S. S. Bulanov, A. Macchi, A. Maksimchuk, T. Matsuoka, J. Nees, and F. Pegoraro, Phys. Plasmas 14, 093105 (2007).

15. Y. Fang, X. Ge, S. Yang, W. Wei, T. Yu, F. Liu, M. Chen, J. Liu, X. Yuan, Z. Sheng, and J. Zhang, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 58, 075010 (2016).

16. S. Palaniyappan, R. C. Shah, R. Johnson, T. Shimada, D. C. Gautier, S. Letzring, D. Jung, R. H?rlein, D. T. Offermann, J. C. Fernandez, and B. M. Hegelich, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 81, 10E103 (2010).

17. J. Schreiber, C. Bellei, S. P. D. Mangles, C. Kamperidis, S. Kneip, S. R. Nagel, C. A. J. Palmer, P. P. Rajeev, M. J. V. Streeter, and Z. Najmudin, Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 235003 (2010).

18. X. Ge, Y. Fang, S. Yang, W. Wei, F. Liu, P. Yuan, J. Ma, L. Zhao, X. Yuan, and J. Zhang, Chin. Opt. Lett. 16, 013201 (2018).

19. A. P. L. Robinson, M. Sherlock, and P. A. Norreys, Phys. Rev. Lett. 100, 025002 (2008).

20. R. H. H. Scott, C. Beaucourt, H.-P. Schlenvoigt, K. Markey, K. L. Lancaster, C. P. Ridgers, C. M. Brenner, J. Pasley, R. J. Gray, I. O. Musgrave, A. P. L. Robinson, K. Li, M. M. Notley, J. R. Davies, S. D. Baton, J. J. Santos, J.-L. Feugeas, P. Nicola?, G. Malka, V. T. Tikhonchuk, P. McKenna, D. Neely, S. J. Rose, and P. A. Norreys, Phys. Rev. Lett. 109, 015001 (2012).

21. K. Markey, P. McKenna, C. M. Brenner, D. C. Carroll, M. M. Günther, K. Harres, S. Kar, K. Lancaster, F. Nürnberg, M. N. Quinn, A. P. L. Robinson, M. Roth, M. Zepf, and D. Neely, Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 195008 (2010).

22. G. G. Scott, V. Bagnoud, C. Brabetz, R. J. Clarke, J. S. Green, R. I. Heathcote, H. W. Powell, B. Zielbauer, T. D. Arber, P. McKenna, and D. Neely, New J. Phys. 17, 033027 (2015).

23. B. Dromey, S. Rykovanov, M. Yeung, R. H?rlein, D. Jung, D. C. Gautier, T. Dzelzainis, D. Kiefer, S. Palaniyppan, R. Shah, J. Schreiber, H. Ruhl, J. C. Fernandez, C. L. S. Lewis, M. Zepf, and B. M. Hegelich, Nat. Phys. 8, 804 (2012).

24. F. Pegoraro, and S. V. Bulanov, Phys. Rev. Lett. 99, 065002 (2007).

25. S. S. Bulanov, C. B. Schroeder, E. Esarey, and W. P. Leemans, Phys. Plasmas. 19, 093112 (2012).

26. J. C. Diels, and W. Rudolph, Ultrashort Laser Pulse Phenomena (Elsevier, 2006).

27. F. Quéré, C. Thaury, J.-P. Geindre, G. Bonnaud, P. Monot, and P. Martin, Phys. Rev. Lett. 100, 095004 (2008).

28. Y. Cai, W. Wang, C. Xia, J. Liu, L. Liu, C. Wang, Y. Xu, Y. Leng, R. Li, and Z. Xu, Phys. Plasmas 16, 103104 (2009).

Save this article's abstract as
Copyright©2018 Chinese Optics Letters 沪ICP备15018463号-7 公安备案沪公网安备 31011402005522号